What is Series 63?

The Series 63 (formally known as the Uniform Securities Agent State Law Exam) primarily covers a specific state's laws and ethical standards. Some states require brokers to obtain this license before soliciting clients and taking orders.

How Does Series 63 Work?

To obtain a Series 63 license, the applicant must pass the Series 63 exam. The National American Securities Administrators Association (NASAA) administers the test.

The exam consists of 65 multiple-choice questions and is 75-minutes long. Candidates must score at least 70% on the test to pass. Candidates can retake the exam after a prescribed waiting period.

In many states, a broker cannot legally advise clients, solicit transactions, and execute transactions for clients until he or she has passed the Series 63 exam and obtained the corresponding license.

Why Does Series 63 Matter?

The Series 63 exam is an important step in ensuring that brokers are aware of state-level securities laws and the ethical standards expected of them. As such, this requirement benefits investors by requiring some level of uniform knowledge base among brokers.

Ask an Expert about Series 63

All of our content is verified for accuracy by Paul Tracy and our team of certified financial experts. We pride ourselves on quality, research, and transparency, and we value your feedback. Below you'll find answers to some of the most common reader questions about Series 63.

Be the first to ask a question

If you have a question about Series 63, then please ask Paul.

Ask a question
Paul Tracy
Paul Tracy

Paul has been a respected figure in the financial markets for more than two decades. Prior to starting InvestingAnswers, Paul founded and managed one of the most influential investment research firms in America, with more than 3 million monthly readers.

Verified Content You Can Trust
verified   Certified Expertsverified   5,000+ Research Pagesverified   5+ Million Users